The Walter de Gruyter Foundation consists of the board of trustees and the governing body. Current members of the board of trustees are the two associates and advisory board members of the publishing house De Gruyter, Dr Georg-Martin Cram and Christoph Seils, as well as the advisory board chairman Rüdiger Gebauer. The chairman is Petra Schmitt.